Summer 2011

Well, I thought that Summer School would be easy. A quick 4-week class and it would be a piece of cake. Yeah right! Oops! I did not realize that a 16-week class could actually be crammed into 4 weeks, but they did it.

I took Introduction to World Religions and thought that I was going to have to drop the class. It was Monday through Thursday, 3 hours a day, with 3 to 4 hours of reading and another 3-4 hours of note taking for me. My eyes were tired and my hands were getting weak, but my husband would not let me give up. With his encouragement, and a lot of prayer, I pushed on to complete the course.

There was a daily essay quiz, 2 written papers (minimum of 5.5 pages) due by the end of the course and a final written essay examine. I was not sure what grade I would receive, as I did not have very much confidence in my writing skills after 20 years out of school. Well, the day of the final exam, I prayed before leaving the house, I prayed before getting out of my car and I repeated “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me!” – all the way to class from the parking lot.

Ten days later I checked my grades at the school’s records and admission office. To my surprise, but relief and much joy, I received an A in the class. The Lord is truly blessing me and sustaining me, as I give myself no credit for this accomplishment. I give all praise, honor and glory to God!

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me!”

About Beverly D. McGhee

Student at Sacramento City College studying Graphic Communication.
This entry was posted in Blog Assignments - 2011 GCOM 361. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

